India sharpens focus on Asia-Pacific region

In a show of intent, India has rearranged three of its foreign office divisions to impart a sharper diplomatic focus to the Asia-Pacific region. The move symbolically aligns with the US move a year back of renaming its Pacific military command as the US Indo-Pacific Command.

The new Asia-Pacific division of the Ministry of External Affairs will comprise the three earlier divisions of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA), ASEAN and the Quad sections.

The ASEAN division handles the 10 member countries of this South-East Asian grouping, Quad deals with India’s confabulations on a joint maritime strategy with Australia, Japan and the US while IORA keeps an eye on a loose grouping of about two dozen Indian Ocean Littoral countries with the marked exception of Pakistan and China. Read More

You may also read!

Navy celebrates 60 years of its oldest air squadron

The Indian Navy’s first Naval Air Squadron 550 celebrated its diamond jubilee at Naval Base in Kochi on Tuesday.


Pakistan intelligence has India sound ‘red alert’

Airports and defence installations have been put on ‘high red alert’ after an intelligence input was received from Pakistan.


India and Pak at the SCO

The recent Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) conference attended by the Prime Minister at Bishkek, the capital of Kyrgyzstan, dominated


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu